January 4th deadline for NFPA 1021 public comments

Standard for Fire Officer Professional Qualifications

The committee process to update existing NFPA standards has started for NFPA 1021 Standard for Fire Officer Professional Qualifications (2020). You have two opportunities to provide input to the technical committee.

From the NFPA “How the process works”

The NFPA standards development process encourages public participation in the development of its standards. All NFPA standards are revised and updated every three to five years, in revision cycles that begin twice each year. Normally a standard’s cycle takes approximately two years to complete. Each revision cycle proceeds according to a published schedule which includes final dates for each stage in the standards development process. The four fundamental steps in the NFPA standards development process are:

  1. Public Input
  2. Public Comment
  3. NFPA Technical Meeting (Tech Session)
  4. Standards Council Action (Appeals and Issuance of Standard)

If not an existing NFPA member, you will need to create a free account. The first round of public comments close January 4th. You can start your public comment process here.